Check out the MATC OER Project Summary Brochure now on the UNESCO website: https://unevoc.unesco.org/home/Promising+Practices+in+TVET/lang=en/id=6785#detail
Watch the MATC OER team presentation to UNESCO from March 2025: https://unevoc.unesco.org/
Check out the monthly workshop recordings from the WisTech OER Odyssey Series, covering topics including:
All workshop video links can be found here: https://mywtcs.wtcsystem.edu/educational-services/instructional-resources/open-educational-resources-oer/wtcs-oer-symposium/
Watch the CCCOER Workshop "New Accessibility Requirements for Web Content & Mobile Applications for Public Entities" from April 8. https://www.cccoer.org/webinar/new-accessibility-requirements-for-web-content-and-mobile-applications-for-public-entities/
Watch the CCCOER presentation by a librarian panel discussion the challenges and opportunities of AI in OER: https://www.cccoer.org/webinar/defying-gravity-or-flying-monkeysa-librarian-panel-about-the-challenges-opportunities-of-ai-in-oer/
Introduction to Earth Science, Second Edition This textbook is designed to provide a comprehensive introduction to Earth Science that can be freely accessed online, read offline, printed, or purchased as a print-on-demand book. It is intended for a typical university-level introductory course in Geosciences, although its contents could be applied to many other related courses.
Community and Public Health Nursing: A Call to Action This new OER explores the diverse roles of community and public health nurses through a social justice lens and examines key issues such as health disparities, access to care, cultural competence, and the impact of social determinants on public health outcomes.
Oral Communication for Non-Native Speakers of English, Second edition This book is an essential instructional tool for developing oral communication skills in academic settings, specifically designed for international graduate students, teaching assistants, postdoctoral researchers, and those preparing to enter academia. The second edition introduces dedicated chapters on developing effective pronunciation, listening skills and speaking fluency. Through its wide array of interactive H5P activities, suitable for both classroom teaching and individual practice, learners can actively develop the skills needed for success in English-speaking academic environments.
Quantitative Problem Solving in Natural Resources, Second edition This book is a collection of resources focused on solving quantitative problems that non-mathematicians interested in biology and environmental sciences may find compelling. It is not intended as a guide to be followed through a series of skills, but rather as a resource to support the problem-solving process and help lower conceptual and computational barriers along the way.
Food Preparation Lab Manual for FSHN 1150 This lab book is intended for use in both the lab and kitchen. Each section of the book contains learning objectives, lab problems to be solved, recipes, questions, and observation charts for the input of data.
Advanced Vietnamese Advanced Vietnamese is designed for students at the intermediate mid to high levels, language enthusiasts, and anyone seeking to deepen their understanding of Vietnamese language and culture. Immerse yourself in the richness of the Vietnamese language by exploring both the Northern and Southern dialects. This dual-dialect approach mirrors the media representation and presence of Vietnamese in various contexts, providing you with a holistic understanding of the language as it is spoken and used in real-life situations.
Basic Tamil This resource is an online, interactive theme-based textbook for true beginners in the Tamil language that promotes communicative, linguistic, and cultural competence. It has a mixture of pedagogical approaches to fit all types of learning, and teaching, philosophies, and styles to achieve the intermediate low- to mid-ACTFL proficiency level within a two-semester sequence.
Cooperative Organic Chemistry Student Laboratory Manual The basis for this laboratory curriculum is to experience science from the perspective of an organic chemist. Working in groups, students are tasked with a project requiring them to design and carry out an investigation centered around an organic chemistry reaction. Students have opportunities to plan investigations, engage in green decision-making, use scientific models of phenomena, construct explanations, analyze data to generate evidence, and use that evidence in argumentation communicated in classically scientific ways—reports, scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations.
Elementary Chinese 1 Workbook Through the power of H5P interactive activities, this workbook, employing an innovative e-writing approach, is designed to help beginning learners lay a solid foundation for the natural development of the Chinese language skills necessary to excel in their learning journey. At the heart of this method lies a focus on Chinese receptive skills that are essential for the development of communicative competences: listening and reading, seamlessly integrated with typing. This unique combination, unlike the traditional handwriting approach, not only fosters accuracy in listening and reading comprehension but also enhances their accurate pronunciation and typing in Chinese communication.
Intermediate Khmer This online textbook is developed from my firsthand experience teaching and designing Khmer language courses at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office Language Centre in London. The book has nine chapters covering listening, speaking, reading, writing, and grammar, with interactive activities using H5P for prompt feedback. Each chapter offers a chapter summary that includes a list of functional expressions and a grammar summary and a practice section offers exercises and activities for students to continue practicing the target language or the chapter's topic. This online interactive theme-based textbook is designed for students at an intermediate level. Upon completion of this course, students will achieve a B2 level on the Common Framework for Language and a mid-intermediate level on the ACFTL proficiency scales.
Trail Building Law and Policy: A Michigan Manual This course book is meant to accompany the Michigan Trails—Trail Building, Law, and Policy course currently being taught in the Department of Community Sustainability at Michigan State University. Topics covered include statutory and common law issues associated with trails; the ways trails are managed and promoted; the organizations that help build trails; the historical, cultural, and natural resources issues associated with trails; and the future of trails both in Michigan and nationally.
The OER Guide to Media Writing This text covers essential topics for students of introductory media writing and is intended for those who wish to know more about writing for the news, advertising, public relations, and broadcast media industries. It is written in English, and examples focus on the U.S. media system and its stylistic norms; however, it is hoped that this text will be of use to students in introductory media writing courses around the world.
Strategic Business Communication This text is a practical, engaging book designed to help undergraduate students and business professionals develop competence and build confidence in their business writing, research, and presentation skills. Readers will learn about the five core competencies of business communication: professional, clear, concise, evidence-driven, and persuasive.
Quantitative Problem Solving in Natural Resources This collection of resources focuses on solving quantitative problems that non-mathematicians interested in biology and environmental sciences may find compelling. It is a resource to support the problem-solving process and help lower conceptual and computational barriers along the way.
Do You Want to Major in Music? A Guide to Majoring in Music or Music Education in American Colleges & Universities This volume is written by two collegiate music teacher educators who have met with numerous prospective music students and answered thousands of questions. They have seen students enter institutions as excited music majors only to be blindsided by the demands of the program of study. Throughout the book, the authors share advice collected from music majors, music education majors, current music teachers, and music teacher educators.
Culinary Medicine is a peer-reviewed textbook aimed at individuals and communities seeking to implement food-based disease prevention programs. It includes recipes (some in Spanish) and case studies, as well as information on kitchen skills, food safety, menu planning, shopping and budgeting, popular diets, dietary supplements, food demonstrations, seed-to-table programs, community partnerships, and culturally centered approaches. There are also chapters on macronutrients, micronutrients, and bioactive compounds.
Financial Empowerment (2nd Edition): Personal Finance for Indigenous and Non-Indigenous People is designed for a single-semester introduction to financial planning and decision-making, to provide first and second-year students with the necessary financial literacy and skills needed to make sound financial decisions, assess financial risk, and achieve financial success.
Grant Writing: The Essentials is a textbook designed to guide readers through every step of the grant writing process. Grant writing is not just about securing funds; it's about crafting a story, building relationships, and making a tangible impact on communities and fields of study. This book aims to equip people with the knowledge, skills, and insights needed to excel in this rewarding field.
Introduction to Behavioral Neuroscience aligns to the topics and objectives of introductory behavioral neuroscience courses taught in psychology, biology, neuroscience, and similar departments. This offering is intended for undergraduates with no presumed college-level science coursework and presents the foundational principles of brain-behavior-environment interactions.
Personalized Website Design for Differentiated Instruction goes through the historical background of social-technological development and then switches to focus on how technology can be used for personalized learning. It proposes a technology-enhanced personalized learning model and further discusses specific strategies and methods that teachers can use to teach and facilitate student's learning. This book also introduces a series of design principles regarding how to develop an engaging, inclusive, and diverse virtual learning community.
Introduction to Global Studies is the first OER on the topic of Global Studies, and the first GLST OER funded by the ASCCC OERI. This textbook aligns with the C-ID Course Descriptor for Introduction to Global Studies in content and objectives. It is organized thematically, with ten content chapters accompanied by an At Home and Abroad section, which contextualizes the concepts presented in each chapter, and is bookended with an introduction and a final chapter.
Semillas: Elementary Spanish I is a comprehensive introductory Spanish open-access textbook with reading, listening, speaking, and writing practice. This OER aims to help students begin learning Spanish in a communicative and comprehensive manner. The textbook uses Pressbooks, a versatile platform that allows a person to integrate interactive activities (h5p) and present authentic material such as video interviews with Spanish speakers and other audio-visual resources.
Maletín Médico: Intermediate Spanish for Healthcare is intended for intermediate Spanish language learners in the health professions. It contains concise, interactive lessons and exercises on grammar, vocabulary and pronunciation, specifically tailored to the needs of professional learners in healthcare.
Introduction to Computer Science provides a comprehensive foundation in core computer science concepts and principles, aligning with the scope and sequence of most introductory computer science courses. The offering serves as an engaging entry point for students pursuing diverse fields of study and employment, including computer science, business, engineering, data science, social sciences, and related disciplines. By addressing a broad learner audience—ranging from computer science majors to non-majors—the book offers a thorough introduction to computational thinking and its applications across multiple domains.
Teaching Pronunciation with Confidence is an essential resource for both English teachers and learners, designed to effectively build strong pronunciation skills and knowledge of pronunciation. This guide covers key topics, including English sounds, word stress, intonation, rhythm, prominence, connected speech, and pronunciation diagnostics to guide improvement. The book includes a wide array of interactive H5P activities and sound recordings, which can be used for classroom teaching, or homework and individual practice. These exercises provide practical experience, reinforcing the concepts covered in each chapter.
Accessible Appalachia: An Open-Access Introduction to Appalachian Studies Edited by Dr. Lisa Day and former Eastern Kentucky University Graduate Assistant Jacob Johnson, this book is a peer reviewed collection of original scholarship published as a project in the OEN Manifold Community. The textbook offers an interdisciplinary perspective and is ideal for introductory classes in Appalachian Studies. Available free to students everywhere, this is the first OER textbook to feature broad coverage of Appalachian artistic, cultural, historical, natural, and social development.
Avoiding Common Pitfalls in Medical Writing: An Editor’s Advice This resource is a useful companion text to comprehensive style guides for the biomedical sciences. The book walks authors through best practices for writing scientific papers and grant proposals in a concise and accessible format. Authors and teachers worldwide will benefit from these shared insights of an experienced scientific editor.
Lifespan Development Lifespan Development aligns to the topics and objectives of most introductory developmental psychology courses taught across departments. Grounded in foundational theories and scientific research, the text teaches students about core aspects of human development—physical, cognitive, social, emotional—across the lifespan. A primary goal of the book is to incorporate content, scholarship, and activities that explore a variety of perspectives that encourage all students to feel seen and included.
HUMA 207: Exploring the Arts and Culture of the World This book is a new OER that can be used as a one-semester humanities course at a community college or four-year university. It emphasizes the breadth of traditional arts and humanities and covers geographic areas of the globe (Western and non-Western cultures).
Security Analysis: A Critical Thinking Approach This book by Dr. Michael Collier furnishes current and future analysts in national security, homeland security, law enforcement, and corporate security a comprehensive process for conducting both intelligence analysis and policy analysis. The target audience is upper-division undergraduate students and new graduate students, along with entry-level practitioner trainees. The book centers on a Security Analysis Critical Thinking Framework.
Modern Blueprint for College and Career Success. Author: Dave Dillon. A free, OER, Modern Blueprint for College and Career Success is a post pandemic, students' guide for classroom and career success. Covering student success strategies, self-management, career development, health and wellness, self and cultural awareness, social development, and financial literacy, Modern Blueprintincludes relevant content for students attending college with an equity perspective.
Foundations of Special Education (2nd ed.). Author: Kathleen VanTol. This book surveys the provision of special education services to students in grades preK-12 with disabilities. It includes the history of special education, legal issues related to the field of special education, and characteristics of learners who qualify for services. It is intended for use by upper-level undergraduate courses and introductory graduate level courses.
Fundamentals of Human Anatomy Laboratory Manual. Author: Carly Manz. This laboratory manual is meant to be used in a lab course that accompanies a college-level introductory human anatomy course. It covers the language of anatomy, cells and tissues, and the organ systems that comprise the human body. Multiple open textbooks were adapted to create this lab manual.
Plant Breeding Methods. Authors: Walter R. Fehr and Walter P. Suza. This text has been compiled to provide an overview of how plant breeders develop cultivars of plant species. The methods that breeders use depend directly on the type of cultivar used to produce a commercial crop. The four most common types of cultivars are (a) clonal cultivars (b) synthetic cultivars (c) pure-line cultivars and (d) hybrid cultivars. These types of cultivars will be discussed throughout the book, alongside review questions for self-study.
Optimizing Population Health: Strategies for Advanced Level Nurses. Author: Kathy Andresen. This resource provides an overview of population health concepts along with health promotion strategies utilized by advanced practice nurses. Resources are intended to be exemplary, but not exhaustive and introduce the reader to strategies that can be practiced while in graduate school as well as in healthcare settings.
Chromosomes, Genes and Traits: An Introduction to Genetics. Author: Amanda Simon. This resource is intended for an introductory or intermediate-level college genetics course. It begins with an exploration of DNA and genome structure and continues with a study of the molecular mechanisms that drive gene expression. Concepts of classical transmission genetics are linked to the molecular mechanisms that underlie observable phenotypes. It concludes with specific topics that synthesize information from both molecular and transmission genetics, including consideration of topics like epigenetics, cancer biology, and evolution.
Literary Studies for A Sustainable Future: An Introductory Course with Social Justice and Ecocriticism Intersections. Author: Lisette Helena Assia Espinoza. This literature textbook offers a sampling of the vast array of storytelling and literary traditions from around the world. Novice literary scholars establish correlations between local and regional literature with those from distant lands on relevant concerns and topics, like those outlined by the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals. Through songs and folklore, film clips, poetry, myth, storytelling, and satirical theater, its chapters feature key literary texts and terms to present literature as vital community-sustaining cultural expressions.
Negocios y Desarrollo Profesional: Perspectivas en Español. Authors: Antonio Parrilla Recuero y Hilda Morayma Benton. The new textbook focuses on global business concepts, intercultural and international communication and the process of acculturation for studying or working in Spanish-speaking countries. Key topics include global trade, leadership, ethics, sustainability and globalization. It also covers professional development, interpersonal communications, getting ready for an interview and preparing a CV and cover letter.
Each year, we feature a faculty member whose courses exemplify high quality OER. We are happy to highlight Dr. Toshiba Adams in this year's OER Faculty Feature.
Dr. Adams serves as a full-time professor and Instructional Chair in the Child Development associate degree program at Milwaukee Area Technical College. She is very passionate about ensuring that students gain access to culturally responsive and liberatory classroom experiences that have the capacity to transform their social, economic and academic mobility.
Interview Response:
How did you learn about OER?
Interestingly, myself and my Child Development colleagues at MATC began adopting an open education resource approach to learning before we were officially introduced to the concept of “OER”. Our program has historically attracted non-traditional students - those who are working full-time in the field and experiencing financial hardships. In response, we began developing learning materials and integrating resources into our course design that were independent of textbooks. Several years later, I was introduced to the OER theory while attending a listening session on campus.
2. What led you to believe that OER is the future?
The belief that OER represents the future of education is rooted in several philosophies, but particularly grounded in the fact that traditional textbooks and educational materials can create significant financial barriers for many students. OER offers a solution by providing free or low-cost access to high-quality resources, making education more equitable.
3. How are you promoting OER at MATC?
As a faculty member at MATC, I'm deeply invested in promoting OER to enhance student access and success. My approach involves several key strategies, including: 1) replacing all textbooks with OER materials for the courses that I teach; 2) collaborating with my MATC and other WTCS peers to co-develop OER resources; 3) actively searching for OER materials that highlight diverse perspectives and experiences, ensuring that my curriculum is inclusive and representative of our student body; and 4) discussing the benefits of OER with my faculty peers and encouraging their involvement in the process.
4. How do you use OER in your classes? (This can include what materials you use, how you found them, and why you use the particular ones you use.).
One of my aims as a professor is to ensure that my curriculum dismantles social norms and stereotypes in education. Therefore, I intentionally search for content that is produced by authors from diverse backgrounds, including scholars of color and women. Through a multicultural purview, I developed an online “textbook” that met my personal and professional standards for diversity and inclusivity. This content was devised from a variety of books and articles as well as my lecture notes. I also integrate multimedia resources (such as videos) and websites as supplemental materials. For other courses, I searched for materials on a variety of OER repositories, such as OER Commons and Oasis.
5. What is a highlight of your experience teaching with OER?
OER has transformed my teaching, allowing me to create a more relevant and engaging learning experience for my students. By customizing content to reflect their diverse backgrounds, I've seen an improvement in student connection, engagement and retention. Some students have shared how seeing themselves, their histories and their communities represented within the curriculum has led to an enhanced sense of identity, belonging and validation.
|
|---|
Creative Commons has a partnership with MHEC that grants a 15% discount on CC Certificate courses. These 10-week, online courses train people in CC licenses, copyright, public domain, and recommended open access/open education practices. Community members affiliated with U.S. higher education regional compacts (MHEC, NEBHE, SREB, and WICHE) are all eligible for the discount. For more information:
The call for papers for the Journal of Open Educational Resources in Higher Education (JOERHE) is now open. JOERHE welcomes original quantitative and qualitative research articles and innovative practice articles concerning Open Pedagogy, Open Data, and analyses of current topics in Open Educational Resources within the context of Higher Education in the United States and Canada. Authors are encouraged to discuss the practical applications of their knowledge and findings, propose best practices, discuss theoretical models and frameworks, and describe their programmatic and practical experiences. All submitted articles will participate in an open peer-review process, and peer-review evaluations will be published alongside their corresponding published articles. Submission due April 30, 2025. https://www.iastatedigitalpress.com/joerhe/news/82/
Chapter proposals are being accepted for The Open Pedagogy Cookbook, an edited volume to be published by ACRL, the Association of Academic and Research Libraries. This edited volume contains lesson plans, resources, and inspiration from librarians who have successfully implemented open pedagogy at their institutions. Proposals are invited from librarians who champion open pedagogy at their institutions in various ways. Final chapters/recipes need to thoroughly describe a replicable lesson plan or activity and are typically between 1,000 and 2,500 words. Proposals are due on May 2. https://excelsior.libwizard.com/f/openpedagogy
Congratulations to our Adoption and Creation Grant Recipients
OER ADOPTION GRANT - COMPLETED
| SURGT-129 | Karim | Badani |
badanik@matc.edu |
| HSM-144 | Dr. Rebecca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| HSM-145 | Dr. Rebeca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| HSM-129 | Dr. Rebecca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| CHILDD-188 | Dr. Toshiba | Adams |
adamst3@matc.edu |
| ENG-195 | Carla | Brott | hartca@matc.edu |
| ENG-340 | Meredith | Reeves Hill |
reevesmk@matc.edu |
| BIOSCI-220 | Tina | McLeod | mcleodt@matc.edu |
| QETECH 188 | Alan | Goodman |
goodmaa5@matc.edu |
| HSM-146 | Dr. Rebecca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| OTASST-185 | Renee Rettler | Rettler | rettler@matc.edu |
| ACCTG-155 |
Nell Curtis, Danica Olson |
curtisnh@matc.edu, olsond38@matc.edu |
|
| TV-107 | Theresa | Bergeson-Gallun | gallunt@matc.edu |
| ESL-771 | Sally | Kuzma |
kuzmas1@matc.edu |
| ENG-207 | Vida | Cross |
crossv1@matc.edu |
| TV-132 | Traci | Koller |
neumantr@matc.edu |
| BIOSCI 700 | Thomas | Kalluvila |
achankut@matc.edu |
| NRSPN-305 | Jennifer Morgan & Henry Stikel | Morgan & Stikel |
stikelh@matc.edu, MorgaJ33@matc.edu |
| OER CREATION GRANT- COMPLETED | |||
| HIST-228 | Nchinda | Zacharia Nchinda |
nchindaz@matc.edu |
| HIST-229 | Nchinda | Zacharia Nchinda |
nchindaz@matc.edu |
| CHILDD-195 | Chrishele | Hall |
batesc11@matc.edu |
| PHYS-221 | Yong | Xue | xuey@matc.edu |
| PHYS-222 | Yong | Xue | xuey@matc.edu |
| PHYS-274 | Yong | Xue | xuey@matc.edu |
| PHYS-275 | Yong | Xue | xuey@matc.edu |
| NRSAD-101 | Elizabeth | Brachmann |
brachmae@matc.edu |
| NRSPN-305 | Henry Stikel & Jennifer Morgan | Stikel & Morgan |
stikelh@matc.edu, morgaj33@matc.edu |
| HSM-132 | Dr. Rebecca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| HSM-139 | Dr. Rebecca | Garcia Sanchez |
garciara@matc.edu |
| OER ADOPTION GRANT - IN PROGRESS | |||
| ELECTY-396 | Doni | Bartley |
bartledw@matc.edu |
| DLABT-115 | Nicole | Jackson |
jacksn44@matc.edu |
| CHILDD-179 | Dr. Toshiba | Adams |
adamst3@matc.edu |
| CHILDD-151 | Dr. Toshiba | Adams |
adamst3@matc.edu |
| OER CREATION GRANT - IN PROGRESS | |||
| ENG-195 | Dr. Krystia | Nora | norak@matc.edu |
| COMMH9-707 | Kelly | Mulvenna |
mulvenka@matc.edu |
| CHEM-207 | Charlene | Rogers-McMahon |
mcmahonc@matc.edu |
| CHEM-208 | Charlene | Rogers-McMahon |
mcmahonc@matc.edu |
| BIOSCI-177 | Nazima | Shahnoor |
shahnoon@matc.edu |
| CHEM-211 | Scott | Schlipp |
schlipps@matc.edu |
| HIST-228 | Nchinda | Zacharia |
nchindaz@matc.edu |
| HIST-229 | Nchinda | Zacharia |
nchindaz@matc.edu |
