The MATC Archives are by appointment only.
MATC students and faculty may contact the Milwaukee Campus Library to arrange a time to access materials. Non-MATC researchers will need to contact the Milwaukee Campus Library and fill out an Outside Researcher form before accessing materials. In your inquiry please state the materials or subjects that you are interested in accessing.
Please see our Access Policy for further information on accessing materials in the Archive.
An archive is an institution whose purpose is to preserve records, objects, and artifacts. It also houses a collection of materials that show the history and evolution of a body of knowledge or an organization.
The mission of the MATC Archive is to preserve, illustrate, and educate the community about MATC and how it fulfills goals of students, employers, and our neighbors. Our collections illustrate how the college’s academic programs have evolved to meet the changing needs of the Milwaukee business and manufacturing communities. Our digital collections through Recollection Wisconsin collect a visual history of the importance and value of MATC in the Milwaukee community.
Libraries hold copies of published materials, such as books, DVDs and magazines. Most archival materials are original copies, so there may be no others in existence. Libraries typically allow patrons to look at the shelves during open hours and check out the materials to take home. Archival materials, on the other hand, are generally kept in closed, climate-controlled storage to preserve their condition.
