It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Test Prep: Health Pre-Admission Tests: After you've passed... Preparing for your classes
Use this guide to help prepare for the entrance exams for MATC's Nursing and Allied Health programs
The Health Occupations classes can be HARD!!! In order to keep up when you begin in classes, brush up on your reading comprehension, math skills and sciences, like A&P and chemistry. You won't be sorry!
Learning Express Library (Badgerlink)This link opens in a new windowProvides comprehensive test preparation, skills improvement resources, and career guidance.
Keywords: Hesi, entrance exam, GED, Allied health, practice test, reading comprehension
Basic Math in 15 Minutes a DayYou don't have to be a genius to become a math master-you can do it in just 15 minutes a day Packed with short and snappy lessons, Junior Skill Builders: Basic Math in 15 Minutes a Day makes learning basic math quick and easy. It's true: making sense of basic math doesn't have to take a long time . . . and it doesn't have to be difficult In just one month, students can gain expertise and ease in a wide array of common (and even the not-so-common) middle-school math challenges. How? Each lesson gives one small part of a bigger math problem, so that every day a student builds upon what was learned the day before. Fun factoids, catchy memory hooks, and valuable shortcuts help make sure that what is learned stays for good. With Junior Skill Builders: Basic Math in 15 Minutes a Day, before you know it, a struggling student becomes a math pro-one step at a time. In just 15 minutes a day, students master: Integers and operations Factors and divisibility Rational numbers Solving equations Fractions, decimals, and percents Inequalities Ratios and rates Powers and exponents Scientific notations Square roots Lines and angles Perimeter and area Classifying triangles and quadrilaterals The Pythagorean Theorem Volume and surface area of solids Graphing Probability And much more In addition to all the essential practice that kids need to ace classroom tests, pop quizzes, class participation, and standardized exams, Junior Skill Builders: Basic Math in 15 Minutes a Day provides parents with an easy and accessible way to help their children excel.
Call Number: 511.21 B311 2008
Davis's Basic Math Review for Nursing and Health ProfessionalsOvercome your anxieties and build your confidence! Master the skills you need to calculate dosages accurately and to ensure patient safety in all areas of clinical practice...step by step, problem by problem! You'll progress from simple to complex calculations, building your proficiency and testing it along the way. It's perfect for course review now and a quick refresher whenever you need it.
Call Number: 615.14 R155 2017
Practical Problems in Math for Health OccupationsThis newly revised book provides a strong foundation in the essential math processes that are employed by health occupations workers in all areas of health care. Exercises are presented in a word problem format with concrete examples of how the math process is used in different health care careers. Problems start with simple examples and progress to complex paradigms that induce readers to tackle difficult situations. In addition to basic applications with whole numbers, fractions, and decimals, information is also featured on common graphs, charts, and gauges that are likely to be encountered in the health care field. This edition includes a large portion of coverage that is devoted to problems involving medications, intravenous solutions, and other emulsions.
Call Number: 513.3 S592 2005
Basic Math for Nursing and Allied HealthDon't let your fear of math hold you back from a rewarding career in nursing or allied health! Basic Math for Nursing and Allied Health uses an easy-to-understand building-block approach designed to teach you how to correlate basic math concepts with everyday activities and eventually master the more complex calculations and formulas used by nursing and allied health professionals. This unique text walks you through essential math topics from Arabic and Roman numerals, addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, decimals, percentage, ratios and proportions, to conversion factors between household and metric measurements. Case studies used throughout the book not only demonstrate the mathematical concepts related to everyday activities and events, but also show you how to effectively use case studies to master the art of interpreting story problems. Basic Math for Nursing and Allied Health is written by an author team with extensive experience in many different healthcare fields including: pharmacy technology, medical assisting, nursing, emergency medical technology, anesthesia technology, patient care technology, and laboratory technology, as well as allied health instruction and education. Powerful learning aids help you understand and retain key concepts: "Recipes for Success" case study scenarios show how mathematical concepts and formulas can be applied to real-life situations "Manual Math" tips and reminder boxes reinforce your confidence and knowledge Key Terms provides definitions of must-know words and phrases Chapter Openers and Chapter Summaries pinpoint must-know takeaways of each chapter Practice equations after each concept sharpen your math skills End-of-Chapter practice tests help you decide whether you should progress to the next chapter Comprehensive review and final exam pinpoint your strengths and weaknesses
Call Number: 513.3 E311 2014
Nurses! Test Yourself in Essential Calculation Skills"This book will be of great benefit to student nurses. Following the clear, step by step guides and worked examples will enable you to quickly develop the confidence to master more complex processes. It will also be an invaluable resource for mentors supporting students." Dorothy Adam, Lecturer, The Robert Gordon University, UK "This book is a fundamental companion for all nurses wanting to become more proficient at medication calculations. The book is designed to find areas for improvements through a series of tests that start with a basic calculation review. Working through the book will help you to build confidence in the clinical environment." James Pearson-Jenkins, Senior Lecturer of Adult Acute Nursing, University of Wolverhampton, UK "This book is a useful tool for all nurses. I would recommend it for nursing staff undertaking intravenous or other medication management courses/ modules. It would also benefit nurses who have to undertake calculations tests as part of their new post or ongoing development." Amy Hutchinson, Student Nurse, University of Ulster, UK "Through simple examples, exercises and gradual progression, this book will help to remove the anxiety often associated with the arithmetic involved in drug calculations commonly encountered in clinical practice. The book will be of use to pre-registration and registered nurses alike. It provides an opportunity for both self assessment and practice, as such it will be a useful tool for improving confidence, competence and patient safety in a critical skill." Jim Jolly, Head of Academic Unit for Long Term Conditions, School of Healthcare, University of Leeds, UK Looking for a quick and effective way to revise key points and test your knowledge? Calculation exams can intimidate many nurses. This handy book is designed to help you conquer your fears and strengthen your calculation skills. With more than 500 test questions in total, the book includes: 4 diagnostic tests so you can assess strengths and weaknesses 11 chapters on basic calculation skills 4 chapters on applied clinical calculations including injections, intravenous and paediatric drugs Quick reference tables of common units, formulae and times tables There are also chapters on the most common drug administrations used in nursing including: intravenous infusions, oral medication, injections, parenteral nutrition and paediatric drugs and the book shows you how to use calculations in clinical settings. Written by lecturers at one of the UK's top nursing schools, this test book is sure to help you improve your results - and tackle calculations with confidence!
Call Number: Ebook
Human Anatomy (Gale)This link opens in a new windowEngaging, interactive models bring science to life, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy, supporting university coursework. Students and instructors can manipulate and explore 3D models that are paired with reference and periodical content for further understanding.
The amazing human body [DVD]This three-part series uses cutting-edge graphics to reveal the surprisingly beautiful biological processes that keep one alive. Discover the ingenious ways your body develops, adapts, and endures, and witness the fascinating and finely tuned systems that keep one's body motoring, and the scientists guessing.
episode 1. Grow / produced and directed by Martin Johnson -- episode 2. Survive / produced and directed by Matthew Dyas -- episode 3. Learn / produced and directed by Penny Palmer.
Call Number: DVD 611 A489
Clinically Oriented AnatomyClinically Oriented Anatomy provides first-year medical students with the clinically oriented anatomical information that they need in study and practice. This best-selling anatomy textbook is renowned for its comprehensive coverage of anatomy, presented as it relates to the practice of medicine, dentistry, and physical therapy. The 7th edition features a NEW-AND-IMPROVED ART PROGRAM to reinforce its position as the primary resource serving the needs of anatomy students during both the basic science and the clinical phases of their studies. Moore is the popular choice for anatomy in many programs, including: medical, dental, physician assistant, chiropractic, podiatry, osteopathic, physical therapy, occupational therapy, kinesiology, and sports medicine. The 7th edition features: #65533; NEW-AND-IMPROVED ART PROGRAM: All illustrations have been redrawn and updated for consistency in style and color as well as anatomical accuracy #65533; CLINICAL BLUE BOXES, supported by photos and illustrations, help students understand the practical value of anatomy. Each clinical correlation is classified by the type of clinical information it contains: Anatomical Variation, Trauma, Surgical Procedure, Diagnostic Procedure, Life Cycle, and Pathology #65533; ILLUSTRATED TABLES organize complex information about veins, arteries, nerves, and other structures #65533; BOTTOM LINES summarize key study points for students #65533; INTRODUCTION CHAPTER covers important systemic information and concepts basic to the understanding of the anatomy presented in the subsequent regional chapters #65533; EXTENSIVE MEDICAL AND DIAGNOSTIC IMAGING reflects the increasing importance it plays in diagnosis and treatment SURFACE ANATOMY photos clearly demonstrate anatomy's relationship to physical examination and diagnosis Online CASE STUDIES AND BOARD REVIEW-STYLE QUESTIONS provide interactive, convenient, and comprehensive self-testing and review to prepare for course and licensing exams #65533; TERMINOLOGY fully adheres to the most current Terminologia Anatomica approved by the Federative International Committee on Anatomical Terminology
Human AnatomyFor students of anatomy, biology, and the biomedical sciences; medical professionals; and curious families, DK's Human Anatomy will be a definitive resource. Written by acclaimed anatomist, Dr. Alice Roberts, Human Anatomy is an up-to-the-minute study of the body. Spectacular digital images show the body in incredible, true-to-life detail. Exhaustive annotations provide the names of organs and structures throughout the skeletal, muscular, nervous, cardiovascular, lymphatic, and reproductive systems, while describing their characteristics and functions. This new addition to DK's award-winning catalog of human body titles will help readers better grasp the deep complexities of the human body for research, study, or general reference. Content previously published as part of Complete Human Body.
Call Number: Ebook
Nurses! Test Yourself in Anatomy and Physiology"Many Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) textbooks have been written, most of them are limited by the absence of a significant bank of self test material. This book fills that space by providing the student engaged in active learning opportunities to assess their learning in all the core areas of A&P. The explanatory feedback material following answers to the test questions is excellent. Now the student has a resource that actually guides them towards success. It will complement any course that includes introductory A&P. This book will be a very useful partner to any student new to the subject that is motivated to learn and do well." Jim Jolly, Head of Academic Unit for Long Term Conditions, School of Healthcare, University of Leeds, UK "This book will be of great benefit to student nurses revising for exams as well as registered nurses wishing to refresh their memory. The authors have a good awareness of the areas where students struggle, and have focused special attention on those." Dorothy Adam, Lecturer, The Robert Gordon University, UK "This book is the perfect companion to help nurses explore their own understanding of this key subject. Students and newly qualified nurses alike will find the different kinds of tests a valuable revision aid." James Pearson-Jenkins, Senior Lecturer of Adult Acute Nursing, University of Wolverhampton, UK "This text is ideal for revision purposes or as a refresher for the basic workings of the human body. The book will help to build the foundations for learning the pathophysiology behind the body systems." Amy Hutchinson, Student Nurse, University of Ulster, UK "An excellent book which I would recommend to all nursing students studying Human Life Sciences or Anatomy and Physiology. This is a really useful book to learn and revise from; each section summarises the essential points and then tests your knowledge... I wish I had had this book prior to my first exam!" Karen Stewart, Student Nurse, Queen's University Belfast Looking for a quick and effective way to revise and test your knowledge? This handy book is the essential self-test resource for nurses studying basic anatomy & physiology and preparing for exams. This book includes over 450 questions in total, each with fully explained answers. These include: 45 A&P illustrations 180 glossary terms Multiple choice questions True or false questions Labelling exercises Fill in the blank questions Each main body system has its own chapter, so you can get in depth practice for your exams. Body systems covered include: Integumentary system Musculoskeletal system Nervous system Endocrine system Cardiovascular system Respiratory system Digestive system Urinary system Immune and lymphatic system Reproductive system Written by lecturers at one of the UK's top nursing schools, this test book is designed to help you improve your results - and tackle your exams with confidence!
Call Number: Ebook
Human Anatomy and PhysiologySchaum's Easy Outline series consists of concise, easy-to-use versions of the biggest and best-selling classics in the Schaum's Outlines series. Every book is a pared-down, simplified and tightly-focussed version a Schaum's Outline, extracting the absolute essense of the subject, presenting it in concise and readily understandable form, and emphasizing clarity and brevity. Graphic elements like sidebars, reader-alert icons and boxed highlights will feature selected points from the text, highlighting keys to learning and giving students quick pointers to the essentials.
Call Number: Ebook
Khan AcademyWatch video tutorials on pretty much any subject taught in school, from beginning math to rocket science.
National Institute of Health Anatomy training moduleThe Anatomy and Physiology module introduces the structure and function of the human body. You will read about the cells, tissues and membranes that make up our bodies and how our major systems function to help us develop and stay healthy.
In this module you will learn to:
Describe basic human body functions and life process.
Name the major human body systems and relate their functions.
Describe the anatomical locations, structures and physiological functions of the main components of each major system of the human body.
BioDigital humanBioDigital Human as a cloud-based, virtual anatomy resource. This interactive 3D map of the human body makes it easy to visualize data, anatomy, disease and treatments in any web or mobile application.
Reading Comprehension, Efficiency and Speed
Seven simple strategies you can use to work on your comprehension skills:
Improve your vocabulary.
Come up with questions about the text you are reading.
Use context clues.
Look for the main idea.
Write a summary of what you read.
Break up the reading into smaller sections.
Reading Comprehension Success in 20 Minutes a DayReading Comprehension in 20 Minutes a Day enhances your critical reading skills in just 20 short lessons. Learn to dissect a story, find the main idea, and draw conclusions through study of practical exercises. With passages from literature, essays, technical writing, and articles, this handy guide includes lessons with hundreds of exercises in test format to help you acquire or refresh essential reading comprehension skills.
Call Number: 428.4 R287 2012
Reading SmartBuilding on the five previous titles in the Smart series with sales totaling over 300,000 copies--is an easy-to-use guide to help readers improve speed and comprehension. Designed for students and adults, this book is written in Princeton's trademark style of candor and irreverent humor.
Call Number: 428.4 S296
Ultimate Speed ReadingReading with comprehension in school, at work, and for pleasure can be a plodding task or a brisk, energizing activity. This book shows readers how to increase their reading speed dramatically for professional, academic, and personal success. The authors offer proven ways to speed comprehension and ensure retention of even the most dry, difficult reading matter. They also teach special techniques for speed-reading all forms of e-messages and present many helpful exercises that increase readers' ability to concentrate. This is one of several titles in Barron's Business Success series--practical guides for career-minded men and women who are competing for advancement in the competitive business and corporate world.
Call Number: 428.4 B433 2013
Teaching the Brain to ReadReading comes easily to some students, but many struggle with some part of this complex process that requires many areas of the brain to operate together through an intricate network of neurons. As a classroom teacher who has also worked as a neurologist, Judy Willis offers a unique perspective on how to help students not only learn the mechanics of reading and comprehension, but also develop a love of reading. She shows the importance of establishing a nonthreatening environment and provides teaching strategies that truly engage students and help them * Build phonemic awareness * Manipulate patterns to improve reading skills * Improve reading fluency * Combat the stress and anxiety that can inhibit reading fluency * Increase vocabulary *Overcome reading difficulties that can interfere with comprehension By enriching your understanding of how the brain processes language, emotion, and other stimuli, this book will change the way you understand and teach reading skills--and help all your students become successful readers.
Call Number: Ebook
Speed reading for success: How to Find, Absorb and Retain the Information You Need for SuccessTo achieve success today, you have to be able to read fast, filter what's important and then remember it. But in this age of information overload, many people suffer immense stress as they struggle with a tidal wave of reports, journals, magazines, books, research papers or emails. The problem is that while producing and distributing information is now an effortless and instant process, our strategies for coping with this flood have hardly changed in a hundred years. In this audio book, leading UK speed reading trainer Jane Smith shows you – in simple, practical steps – how to read fast and retain essential information. Contents: Track 1: Introduction; Track 2: Your starting point; Track 3: How the eyes work; Track 4: Techniques for reading faster; Track 5: Let's talk about peripheral vision; Track 6: The high-speed skim; Track 7: Stretching speed & comprehension; Track 8: Styles of reading; Track 9: Storing & recalling information; Track 10: Top tips for speed reading success