Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MATC Library logo

Library Workshops

Descriptions of the library workshops and instructional sessions, plus easy access to sign up to attend sessions.

Library Instructional Session Descriptions

Academic Research sessions focus on finding scholarly resources through the MATC Libraries.  Each session includes how to use One Search to maximize your research time, obtain citations, and effectively take notes, as well as introduction to specific database resources based on the topic covered.   All Academic Research sessions are one hour.  These sessions are presented with students in mind, but MATC employees are welcome to attend. Faculty are also welcome to request a session for their students to attend at a time that is convenient for those taking their course.

 

Basic Research

This session is a perfect introduction to basic academic databases and searching for informative topics. The librarian will cover how to use One Search, the library’s discovery service, as well as related resources, how to find and build citations, and tips for efficient research.
 

Business & Marketing

This session concentrates on resources specific to business and marketing.  Attendees will learn the basics of how to use Reference USA, how to set up a free Milwaukee Business Journal account and how to use the MBJ subscription resources, and how to use One Search to seek information on business-related topics.  
 

Health Sciences

An ideal session for students pursuing a career in nursing or other health-related careers.  This session covers how to find peer-reviewed articles and locate appropriate ebooks, as well as gives an overview of the many health and medicine databases available. 
 

Historical Research

Delve into the past with our history databases.  Your presenter will start with showing you how to access the MATC Archives and Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers, then move into United States and World History by demonstrating how to use U.S. History, History Reference Center, and HeinOnline.
 

Persuasive Topics

Whether referred to as Argumentative, Persuasive, Cause and Effect, or Opposing Viewpoints, all such assignments are covered in this session.  After going over tips for searching in One Search, the librarian will show how to use Academic OneFile, Opposing Viewpoints In Context, and America’s News to find items both in support of and opposing the topic you are researching, as well as recognizing bias when obtaining resources.
 

Literary Criticism

Analysis of short stories, novels, and poetry requires a slightly different research technique.  Attend this session to see how to utilize several literary criticism databases, including Bloom’s Literature, Gale Literature, and Literary Reference Center Plus.  When and how to access the Oxford English Dictionary online is covered as well. 


Science Research

From the virtual interactive experiments and printable full-color diagrams on Science Online to the science crossword collection and conversations with scientists found in Today’s Science, there is a wealth of dynamic science content available.  Science Reference Center, the library collection of science libguides, and searching on One Search will also be covered.