It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Plans: Getting Started
Need to write a business plan? This guide will provide links to resources to get you started.
Business Source UltimateThis link opens in a new windowOffers a wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business. Learn about accounting, finance, banking, marketing, management, and delve into case studies, country economic reports, and company profiles, as well as interviews with executives and analysts.
The U.S. Business Database contains information on over 12 million companies. Use this resource to research suppliers, competitors, B2B customers, and potential employers by many criteria, including location, size, and type of business.
The U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database is ideal for identifying a target market for a product or service, studying the demographics of a community, researching consumer demand for new businesses, researching a community before opening a business, and estimating the number of potential customers based on hobbies, interests, and other demographics.
How to Write a Business Plan by Mike McKeeverStep-by-step advice on preparing a business plan You need a sound business plan to start a business or raise money to expand an existing one. For over 30 years, How to Write a Business Plan has helped fledgling entrepreneurs--from small service businesses and retailers to large manufacturing firms--write winning plans and get needed financing. This bestselling book contains clear step-by-step instructions and forms to put together a convincing business plan with realistic financial projections, effective marketing strategies, and overall business goals. You'll learn how to: figure out if your business idea will make money determine and forecast cash flow create profit and loss forecasts prepare marketing and personnel plans find potential sources of financing, and present your well-organized plan to lenders and other backers. The 13th edition is updated to reflect best practices for raising money (from SBA loans to equity crowdfunding).
Publication Date: 2017
How to Write a Business Plan by Brian FinchWhether you are starting or selling your own business, business plans are an essential and unavoidable part of the business cycle. How to Write a Business Plan gives you the expert guidance you need to make an impact with your plan, including advice on researching competitors, presenting your management skills and successfully communicating your strategic vision. Whether it is to raise finance, sell a business or develop a specific project, this is your one-stop guide to producing the most professional and convincing business plan for a new ventureHow to Write a Business Plan provides invaluable help with sales, cash and profit forecasts and is supported by the inclusion of full-length plans available to download online. This new edition has been enhanced to cover digital developments like crowdfunding, online retailing and digital marketing. The creating success series of books...With over one million copies sold, the hugely popular Creating Success series covers a wide variety of topics and is written by an expert team of internationally best-selling authors and business experts. This indispensable business skills collection is packed with new features, practical content and inspiring guidance for readers across all stages of their careers.
Publication Date: 2016
The FT Essential Guide to Writing a Business Plan by Vaughan EvansIn one engaging, outcome-oriented book, The FT Essential Guide to Writing a Business Plan gives you: The essential knowledge you need to write a winning business plan - quickly and without fuss Guidance on how to focus throughout on the plan's purpose - to win backing Samples of what a good plan looks like, so you can benchmark your own as you write it Checklists, tips, examples and milestones to ensure you're on target Prompts to reflect on, evaluate and learn from your experience With advice that's instantly applicable, whether your business is a start-up or a more established company looking to grow, this is the one guide you need to create a credible and persuasive plan.
Publication Date: 2016
Business Plans Kit for Dummies, 5th Edition by Barbara Findlay Schenck; Peter E. Jaret; Steven D. PetersonThe fast and easy way to construct a winning business plan If you're looking to establish, expand, or re-energize a business, the best place to start is with a sound business plan'and this new edition of Business Plans Kit For Dummies is here to help you get you started. From getting your hands on start-up money from investors to successfully growing or reimaging your venture, it offers everything you need to craft a well-defined business plan that will set you on a course to get your business moving in the right direction. Are you unsure how to draft objectives for managers or deal with displacement? Are you new to hiring employees and need help grasping the ins and outs of creating a new business? No worries! Business Plans Kit For Dummies is brimming with all the tools and expert guidance you need to bring a successful business plan to life and keep your company afloat in any economic environment. Including the latest tips and resources, and packed with lots of helpful examples and sample forms, it offers everything you need to craft a winning business plan and increase the likelihood your business will not only survive, but thrive! Create a sound business plan and clear mission statement Establish and assess your goals and objectives Get start-up money in any economy Increase your business' chances of financial success If you're a small business owner, investor, or entrepreneur looking for expert guidance on developing and implementing a strategic plan to help your business succeed, Business Plans Kit For Dummies has you covered!
Publication Date: 2016
Write your business plan : get your plan in place and your business off the ground by Entrepreneur Media, Inc. StaffA comprehensive companion toEntrepreneur's long-time bestsellerStart Your Own Business, this essential guide leads you through the most critical startup step next to committing to your business vision--defining how to achieve it. Coached by a diverse group of experts and successful business owners, gain an in-depth understanding of what's essential to any business plan, what's appropriate for your venture, and what it takes ensure success. Plus, learn from real-world examples of plans that worked, helping to raise money, hone strategy, and build a solid business. Whether you're just starting out or already running a business, to successfully build a company, you need a plan. One that lays out your product, your strategy, your market, your team, and your opportunity. It is the blueprint for your business. The experts atEntrepreneur show you how to create it. Includes sample business plans, resources and worksheets.
Publication Date: 2015
Business Plan Template and Example: How to Write a Business Plan by Alex GenadinikThis book is now used by the University of Kentucky entrepreneurship program. Are you trying to start a business, and not sure how to write a business plan? Then this is the right course for you. This book is structured as a business plan template that you can use to write your own business plan. The book also explains to you what you should write in each section of your business plan, and how to ultimately have a great business plan. The book also gives you an example of a simple business plan. This way you get a business plan template together practical explanations and an example. So whatever your learning style might be, this book has a high chance of being effective for you. If business planning seems to you complex and scary, this book will make it simple for you. It is written in simple and clear language to help you get started and create a great business plan. So what are you waiting for? Get this book now, and start creating a great business plan for your business today. Also recently added in the last update of this book is a business plan sample since many people commented that they wanted a business plan example. Although for my taste as an entrepreneur, I rather give you lots of great business planning strategies and theory that you can use in the real world instead of having a business plan template or workbook to write your business plan from. After all, a business plan is just a document. But to make your business a success, you will have to do it in the real world. So when you try to figure out how to create a business plan, don't just focus on the business plan document. Instead, focus on a plan for the real world with actionable and effective strategies. Get the book now, and start planning your business today.
Publication Date: 2015
Anatomy of a Business Plan by Linda PinsonUsed by more than 1.5 million business owners since its original publication, the new edition of this classic how-to guide provides any entrepreneur the tools to create a well-constructed business plan. All steps are included--from initial considerations to envisioning the organizational structure to creating a growth-powering marketing plan and building for the future with airtight financial documents. The book offers proven, step-by step advice for developing and packaging the components of the plan and keeping them up to date, including cover sheets, table of contents, executive summary, organization and marketing plans, and financial and supporting documents. Five real-life business plans and blank forms and worksheets provide readers with additional user-friendly guidelines for the creation of the plans. The revisions included in the new edition include updated chapters on writing a marketing plan and financing resources as well as a new, complete example of a business plan for a nonprofit organization.
Business Plans to Game Plans : A Practical System for Turning Strategies Into Action by Jan B. KingBreaking down complex concepts into simple and effective action plans, author Jan King will help you profit from her extensive experience and avoid common mistakes. This new revised edition elaborates on the six critical principles of running a small business that helped guide King to success: Set standards and give your employees the tools to meet your goals Lead by example Look to the long term the very long term Find the important details and focus on them Watch for variances from expected results Face reality when you look at your company and take action Business Plans to Game Plans will help you turn your vision into a thriving business equipped to weather any market! Order today!
Films on Demandoffers a wide variety of educational streaming videos and is accessible on campus and off. All of these videos can be found by searching in MATC's One Search box, and each one will have a direct link to the video.