Paralegal Resources

The first issue of the Marquette Law Review appeared in the fall of 1916. It is one of the oldest law school sponsored legal journals in the country. The Marquette Law Review is published quarterly during the school year, with the editorial staff being chosen from second- and third-year students on the basis of scholarship and writing ability. Each issue of the Marquette Law Review contains articles on legal subjects, commentary on developments in the law, and notes on recent decisions. The Marquette Law Review provides special training in legal research and writing, and is considered a valuable part of the Law School's academic program.

The Wisconsin Law Review is a student-run journal of legal analysis and commentary that is used by professors, judges, practitioners, and others researching contemporary legal topics. It includes professional and student articles, with content spanning local, state, national, and international topics.

The Wisconsin Lawyer magazine, as the official monthly publication of the State Bar of Wisconsin, educates Wisconsin's legal community about changes in the law, regulatory and administrative practice and procedure, and provides information that directly aids and improves the practice of law and delivery of legal services to the public. The award-winning Wisconsin Lawyer also explores law-related trends and developments, and provides a forum for expression of ideas, concerns, and opinions that affect the practice of law in Wisconsin.

For more than a century Black's has been the gold standard for the language of law. Today it is the most widely cited law book in the world. Edited by Bryan A. Garner, the world's leading legal lexicographer, the 9th Edition is the most authoritative, comprehensive law dictionary ever published. It contains more than 45,000 terms and includes: 2,000 more terms than the 8th Edition and 19,000 more than the 7th Edition including click fraud, Code Adam, collaborative law, ecoterrorism, environmental tort, friendly subpoena, happy-slapping, honor crime, secret detention, Schumer box, and super precedent. The date when selected terms were first used in English-language contexts, especially in judicial opinions, Heightened accuracy, more than 200 lawyers around the country reviewed terms. Definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. Almost 3,000 quotations drawn from sources over five centuries. Alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms and West Key Numbers.

In its Third Edition, the new standard guide to legal citation continues to present a single, consistent system of citation for all forms of legal writing in a clear, attractive, and easy-to-use format.This phenomenally popular reference rivals The Bluebook because it is written, designed, and edited by professionals: Darby Dickerson, a leading authority on American legal citation, and the Association of Legal Writing Directors simplifies and clarifies citation by using one consistent and logical system for any type of legal document.