Biographies are usually located in the 920s on the shelves
But they would be in the 700s if the person is an artist, architect, painter, photographer, sculptor, etc.
If you want a targeted search, choose a subject search type, with the person's last name first. Example: Washington, George
You can also do a keyword search and type "biography" and a subject area of interest. Example: biography and music
You can request a book from one campus, and have it delivered to another campus for pickup.
Biography Databases
Biography (Gale In Context)This link opens in a new windowAn engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Keywords: biography, autobiography, memoir, history
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
History Reference Source (BadgerLink)This link opens in a new windowFeatures full text for more than 2,400 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. It also includes full text for more than 130 leading history periodicals. The database contains more than 61,100 historical documents; more than 66,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)This link opens in a new windowProvides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors and their works from every age and literary discipline.
This link opens in a new window
MasterFILE Complete (BadgerLink)This link opens in a new windowPopular full-text magazines, reference books and other sources from the world's leading publishers.
A-Z List of all the databasesThis is a list of all our databases. Under each title is a description of what kind of information you will find in that database. Below is a list of recommended databases.
Encyclopedias & Reference Sources
Encyclopedia Britannica Online (BadgerLink)This link opens in a new windowComplete online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica. Additional features include videos, magazine and journal articles, dictionary, thesaurus, notable quotations, and relevant Web links.
Films on Demand Biographical videosFilms on Demand provides 24/7 access to online streaming videos appropriate for academic research. Click this link to browse the biographical videos, or enter a search term in the search box at the top of that page.
InfoPlease30,000+ brief biographies. Searchable by categories, which makes it a great place to start if you are looking for a biography on a musician or activist, but do not know specific names.
Time100TIME presents its annual list of the 100 most influential people in the world, from artists and leaders to pioneers, titans and icons. Searchable by year and category.
Biography.comAffiliated with the Biography Channel TV cable show; includes video as well as text.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
